Our Province


St. Josep’s province Thalassery which was founded in 1965 had a steady growth as the number of vocations increased. In 1973 convents in the Dioceses of Mananthavady together formed as Mary Matha province, the convents in Thamarassery was united and formed Vimala Matha province in 2004. In 2005 Andhra mission declared as Jeevodaya Region and in 2009 Amal Jyothi region Gujarat was declared, finally in 2016 Jeevodaya region raised into an independent province to carry out the vision and mission of our beloved founder Venerable Mar. Thomas Kurialachery.

God’s ways are unique and His plans for us are wonderful and fascinating. After a long waiting, God the Almighty accomplished the deepest desire of the St. Joseph province Thalasserry, to start a mission in Andhra Pradesh. This dream came in to reality through the prophetic vision of Mother Hosanna the 2nd provincial superior of Thalassery province, as they decided to start a house at kovvur in West Godavari district of Eluru Diocese. So Deepthi Bhavan, the first house of Jeevodaya province, started on 18th June 1978 in Eluru Diocese.  Rev Fr. Peter Canacious (ofm cap) took a lot of interest to start our first convent in Kovvur, with the consent of the then Bishop Most Rev. John Mulagada, the Bishop of Eluru. This mustard seed of SABS which was sown in this soil of AP sprouted and spread out in many Dioceses of AP namely Vijayawada, Warganal, Nalgonda, Khammam and Guntur. 

Jeevodaya Province, in Andhra & Telangana is a sign of the missionary zeal of the Thalassery province. Four sisters from St. Joseph’s Province Thalassery stepped in Andhra soil in 1978 by accepting the invitation of Capuchin Franciscan order (OFMcap). Late Rev. Fr. Peter Canacious welcomed us to open our first community at Kovvur with the consent of Late Bishop John Mulagada the Bishop of Eluru Dioceses. The silver jubilee of the mission was celebrated in 2003. Now there are thirteen mission centers in the dioceses of Andhra and Telangana. The sisters are actively involved in Eucharistic Apostolate, education, social and healing ministries. Gradually the communities increased in number and Sr. Ancy Oniserry was the first mission superior to animate the region followed by Sr. Jane Mary Areeparambil. To add momentum to the growth of the mission all the houses were united in 2005 and declared this mission as a region. Sr. Anice Kallidukkil was the first regional superior of the region followed by Sr. Mary Paul Pulakudyil. Finally the long cherished desire of the members of the Jeevodaya region and the major superiors were fulfilled when the region was raised to the status of a Province.‚Äč        

The first Provincial Suerior             - Rev. Sr. Jane Mart Areeparambil (2016-2018)

The second Provincial superior    -   Rev. Sr. Jane Mary Areeparambil,( Re- elected, 2018-